Issues with Space Engineers Part 1

Ok so here’s a short from me on a game called Space Engineers. In these blogs I am going to talk about the many issues the game has when I notice them. Why am I doing this now? Because every single time I play this game there is something that instantly manages to piss me off and it’s time I made an encyclopedia of all if the issues.

To start with I want to talk about the most recent issue with Space Engineers that I have discovered. Now this could be considered a minor issue but when you consider what this game is going for, it is far from it. The first issue I’m going to talk about is the seams between several objects, most noticeably windows.

buggered-windows

Notice the red warning screen that appears? That shows up when you press the F12 button which just happens to be the steam screenshot button. So now, I have to put up with this every single time I take a screenshot (sure I could press F4 for the in-game screenshot but F12 is so much easier to do), what a fantastic idea developers!!!

Take a look at the image above. Now this was taken on a breathable planet. However do bear in mind that the exact same windows are used in space as well and are supposed to be designed with pressurization in mind… oh the irony.

That’s not all. Small conveyors also have seams in between. What? Are they floating in mid-air or something? I had to change my ship just because of this issue. But wait, there’s more. Another problem is that conveyor blocks aren’t rigid, why is this a problem you ask? Because since it isn’t ridged, there are gaps in all four corners that aren’t phased into other blocks, this would in theory fuck with the pressurization.

All I can say is that for once, the programmers are not to blame. This blame goes to the modeling team. I will be bringing up more issues in the future along with maybe some fixes as well… if that ever happens. Just know that this is only the very start of the problems I have with this game that I really want to enjoy but am struggling to due to these countless issues. See you in part 2.

Leave a Reply

