The Ordeal Of Purchasing Games Day 1 from Square-Enix

Ok so I’ve just about had enough with this bullshit. Star Ocean The Divine Force releases in 8 days, 8 fucking days and Square-Enix still hasn’t listed the system requirements on the Steam Store page, on top of this, the game has denuvo DRM and apparently there will be in game purchases according to the ESRB which I only noticed on the Playstation Store page for the game which I decided to check because I wanted to see what Sony were charging for it because it’s common knowledge by now that the Playstation Store is a rip off and I’m going to get into that first because before I went to look up the price for the game on the Playstation Store, I was expecting it to be £54.99, which was still higher than the price on Steam but I knew Sony would inflate the price like the scum they are so I went in expecting it to be higher. Turns out that Sony exceeded my expectations as the price of a digital standard copy of Star Ocean The Divine Force on the Playstation Store is… *drum roll* £59.99!

the ordeal 1

I know, it caught me by surprise too, I never realized that Sony would stoop so low as to charge more than the physical copies on their store, which are only £54.99. Sure with postage in consideration it’s the same price but this is still daylight robbery and we all know that Sony has a monopoly, they’ve already been accused of it, it’s out there, go look it up Sony have a monopoly over their console’s digital market, I’ve known this for years and it’s the main reason why I refuse to buy from the Playstation Store. Thing is though, it is still an avenue of purchase to consider and for that reason, I had to bring it up. Hopefully this alone will tell you why this isn’t a viable option of purchase. Next up we have physical PS4 copies and I don’t even know where to begin with this. On Gamefaqs, people have mentioned that Amazon have delayed the game till November, only to bring it back to October 27th. Like I get it, there’s a lot of complications with postage right now, the Royal Mail are on strike, I get it. Thing is, this is just confusing to me, if I order a physical copy of the game (which cost the same as a digital Playstation Store copy when you include postage) then I will not have access to the game on release and this will greatly hinder the progress of my review of the game. Unlike most of these mass media outlets and popular content creators, I do not have the luxury of being able to apply for a review code. This is for two reasons, firstly I am a small content creator, secondly this is Cynical Gaming Blog, essentially making me the enemy of all videogame publishers, why would they send me a free review code when I trash these companies time and time again? So this means my only option is to get the game day 1… which is easier said than done.

Now obviously the best case scenario would be to get the game on Steam so that I can play it on PC, since it would be so much more convenient for me to do so as it means that not only is it easier for me to record footage it’s also easier for me to screencap too. On top of this, I’d be supporting more PC releases of Japanese games by buying from steam and showing Square-Enix that there is an audience for those games on PC. On top of this, it would mean that there would be 1 more physical copy available for physical game collectors who play on consoles as I would be buying digitally, which has limitless availability. In addition, the price for Star Ocean The Divine Force on PC is £49.99. I never thought that I’d be happy to see that price tag show up for a game since it used to be £39.99 for a brand new release, remember those days?

the ordeal 2

Sadly inflation is a thing now and well, they’ve coerced us into paying more… as per usual. I wish It was that simple for me to do that, I mean given the fact that I am a self-employed retailer (this blog doesn’t make me any money, let alone a living just thought I’d put that out there), I understand better than anyone how hard it is to inflate prices simply due to the fact that while inflation goes up, the disposable income of others does not and I always try my best to make prices fair and affordable, going as far as to avoid buying inflated stock to maintain a fixed price. Of course big corporations aren’t going to do this since they don’t give a shit about their customers, particularly game Publishers. They’re only good at one thing: taking and I’m getting fed up with it. None of this would be an issue if the games themselves were improving like they were back in the day but videogames have been going downhill since 2010 and continue to get worse and worse by the day (which is evident by my review of Valkyrie Elysium, a game I paid £54.99 for, more expensive than my copies of Valkyrie Profile 1 & 2 combined only to find out that it was inferior to both of those games), save for a few, yet they charge us more!? What the absolute fuck is wrong with this industry? Why do we eat up this bullshit time and time again? I swear there’s more to it than inflation, the Playstation Store prices greatly suggest this.

Regardless I will accept £49.99 for now as a reasonable price for the sake of this article, assuming that it’s merely inflation but it’s impossible to know that for certain. All I do know is that the way Square-Enix have handled the PC version of Star Ocean The Divine Force is absolutely abysmal. Not only do we have to deal with Denuvo DRM yet again but the system requirements for the game, which should be announced prior to release are still unconfirmed even though the game is releasing in 8 days, what the fuck Square-Enix!? Despite this however, they are more than happy to relieve us of our hard earned money in exchange for a game that we don’t even know will work on our hardware. Not everyone has the best, most up to date PC and because of this, it is important to list system requirements so that people know in advance whether or not they are able to run the game so that they can make necessary modifications to their system in advance prior to release or they purchase the game on console if they happen to have one. With the way things are right now, it is impossible to know whether or not the game will run and while some have speculated that the recommended requirements will be around the same recommended requirements that the PC’s being given away in a Japanese contest by Intel, it’s difficult to know what is in the thing unless you understand Japanese and even then, what are the minimum requirements? We don’t fucking know!!!

The Ordeal 3

So as you can see, I am in a bit of a situation here. I don’t usually try to get reviews out early but I have noticed that doing so yields better results as people are more likely to read reviews of games if the games are new and relevant and considering the fact that two of my favorite franchises had releases back to back this year, I’ve wanted to cover both of them, despite the stressful situation I’ve been going through in real life. Thing is that Square-Enix are making this needlessly difficult for me. I want to support more Star Ocean games and with tri-Ace’s terrible financial situation under consideration, it is urgent that I purchase the game so that I can at least show to Square-Enix the value that tri-Ace brings to the table as well as getting them out of this mess. I don’t give two flying fucks about giving Square-Enix my money if it wasn’t for tri-Ace I’d just wait for a cheap review code to show up on G2A just to spite them for being greedy bastards. Thing is, this isn’t a matter of boycotting, it’s quite the opposite. Buying this game digitally on steam means that I am supporting Square-Enix’s bullshit but that is a necesarry evil to keep tri-Ace afloat and it is so unbelievably conflicting. Thing is though in this situation, I feel that I have to let Square-Enix win because tri-Ace is one of the last hopes this industry has to bring us quality games. While Valkyrie Elysium, was one of those “damned if you do, damned if you don’t” situations in regards to buying it, Star Ocean The Divine Force is very similar in the sense that you either watch tri-Ace disappear from the industry or prevent it at the cost of allowing Square-Enix get away with their bullshit. I am so sick of the distain that this company has for its PC market, they didn’t even give PC users access to a Demo, it’s ridiculous. Is there any hope for this industry at all or are we all fucked?

On a slightly unrelated note, for those of you who want to get even more pissed off by the gaming industry, check out Hikikomori Media’s video on videogame preservation.

Leave a comment