Contradicting Articles Put The whole Vanillaware/Atlus PC Port Fiasco In A Weird Situation

The two articles are here: https://www.destructoid.com/unicorn-overlord-devs-talk-history-card-games-and-that-delicious-food/

https://gnn.gamer.com.tw/detail.php?sn=265998

So the Destructoid article claims that due to an agreement with Vanillaware, Atlus cannot publish the game to PC even though they clearly want to. I will quote the article:

Yamamoto: As a publisher, we would like to deliver it to PC users as well, but per our agreement with Vanillaware, we are only releasing on console. In other words, there are no plans to port it to PC currently.

From Destructoid article written by Eric Van Allen

Now in the next article by GNN, we have another quote from Yamamoto which contradicts the above quote:

Yamamoto: Regarding the development of this game, ATLUS and VANILLAWARE actually started work in 2016, and the original development platforms were only PS4 and PS Vita. But compared with 8 years ago, today’s game market has undergone earth-shaking changes. In order to adapt to the changes of the times, we asked VANILLAWARE to change the compatible game console platform to PS4 / PS5 / Nintendo Switch / Xbox Series X|S , which doubled the number of platforms originally expected, and the sales method was also changed to simultaneous global sales at that time. The current corresponding platform is determined by ATLUS as the publisher. We are very grateful to VANILLAWARE for agreeing to this request without hesitation. Because of this, there are currently no plans to make a PC version.

From GNN Article written by Inu Taku

So this essentially points fingers at two different companies. Destructoid blames Vanillaware, GNN blames Atlus as according to GNN, it was Atlus who decided on the platforms to support. Now given my bias against Atlus’ parent company SEGA, I am more inclined to believe the GNN article given the fact that this outrageous decision is something that SEGA would make given the fact that they are and always have been incompetant morons since the 60’s. At the same time however, Vanillaware games have still yet to see a PC release.

Put simply, I don’t know what to believe anymore, either the journalists suck at their jobs or Yamamoto didn’t deliver a sufficient answer in the Destructoid article and finally gave some proper information on thw GNN article. If that is the case then I do apologize to Vanillaware and my readers because I was mislead by all of this.

Now as for my Vanillaware article, I will take it down to avoid spreading any false facts. I no longer have any issue with George Kamitani as of right now and while I won’t support his games going forward unless a PC port is released, I won’t make any more assumptions. While those assumptions were necesarry at the time and regardless of them being true or not would serve their purpose, with this new information, I retract my statements made regarding his possible reasonings for not wanting to release games on PC because there’s a good chance that he isn’t against releasing games on PC, it’s just that Atlus don’t want him to.

Regardless, this is terrible news for us all. With Vanillaware games never getting a PC release, it’s going to mean that PC gamers miss out on all of George Kamitani’s work which is a shame because George Kamitani can actually make some decent games.

In any case, I know that there will be those people who want to be smart asses about me being wrong about this but the reality is that this mistake was not my own. I formulated my views based on what is supposed to be a reputable source. Yes I was perhaps wrong in retrospect but at the same time, had I not spoken out on it, this problem would not have gotten awareness and at the same time, sometimes you have to push the assumptions to grab people’s attention. That is what I do, this is not a fact based site, I base my views on facts brought to me by what are considered to be reputable sources but I am an opinion based site who’s purpose is to speculate and uncover the truth hidden behind the facts that they don’t want us to know, so that we ask the questions.

2 thoughts on “Contradicting Articles Put The whole Vanillaware/Atlus PC Port Fiasco In A Weird Situation

  1. Good article Terry, I’ve never played a Vanillaware game due to the fact they’re not on PC. Never ended picking up one on the PS2 back in the day so I’ve never played any.

    Whatever the agreement is, it’s 2024, they should be looking at the bigger picture, it’s not 2014, this kind of shit don’t fly anymore. Any developer or studio that chooses to have this opinion is only hampering there own potential growth as a studio and are locking out profit.

    They are also missing out on growing their fanbase, just look at the Yakuza fanbase once the games started to be released on PC, once Yakuza 0 came out on PC the Yakuza fanbase might as well doubled from that point on.

    Hopefully this agreement gets altered or corrected at some point so they can drop these archaic conditions on what platform a game gets released on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed, games should be released on PC before anything else, that way they are ready to be ported to console because they have been optimized for numerous systems already.

      Like

Leave a comment